The Gift

White Rose

What gift can I leave
this worldly realm
before I, a quiet spirit transcend
to a place beyond the shadows.

What gift can I leave
from my heart to mankind
if not some image of compassion
and hope for children not yet born.

What gift can I leave
if not the noble things I have done
or the inspiring words I have written
to show that there is joy and love
beyond any shadows,strife or wars.

What gift can I leave
if not the memories of my life
to show my children and grandchildren
that life is wonderful but fragile,
beauty is beyond the eyes
and love is immortal

Photography Credit https://flic.kr/p/5jBRnH

6 thoughts on “The Gift

Leave a Reply

